A Guide On The Four Levels of Software Testing

Jun 5, 2023

Software testing aims to ensure that a finished product is functional and up to the standards set forth by the client; this usually involves checking various aspects of the app that deal with performance, functionality, and overall UX. 

All levels of software testing consider the app’s overall performance and how the end product will impact user experience. User preferences are essential, and organizations leverage solutions from software testing platforms. These types of software testing platforms come with experience with user expectations and can help organizations develop successful apps

Categorizing the four levels of software testing

Defect detection is an integral part of the SDLC and works to pinpoint all points of failure in the program. Software testing essentially has four levels. These levels involved in the testing process in software testing are:

  1. System Testing
  2. Unit Testing
  3. Acceptance Testing
  4. Integration Testing

System Testing

System testing, one of the major stages of testing the software ensures the application’s proper operation when placed in the larger context of the system or environment under test. 

In this level of testing, organizations test the software application as a complete system, including all external interfaces and dependencies. A team of testers who use specialized tools and frameworks to create and run system tests carry out system testing.

Developers perform software testing phases in a controlled environment, such as a test lab, where testers can conduct software testing processes by simulating various scenarios and conditions to ensure that the software application works as intended. System testing aims to identify any defects or issues arising when the software application is used in a real-world environment.

Unit Testing

Unit testing aims at verifying the functionality of individual units of code or components. In this level of software testing processes, each code unit is tested in isolation, independent of other units. The goal is flawless functionality and conformity with regulations. 

The developers that look after the types of software testing and who write test cases to check the functionality of each unit of code, typically carry out this level of software performance testing.

Unit testing, among the most popular levels of testing, is typically automated, and developers use specialized tools and frameworks to create and run software testing automation. Unit Ai testing aims to catch defects early in development when they are less expensive and time-consuming. 

The software testing guide is an essential aspect of the continuous integration and delivery (CI/CD) process, where developers run test automation every time new code is added to the software application.

Acceptance Testing

Acceptance testing ensures that the developed program functions as expected and is suitable for release. The software development companies, real users, and customers using the software test it to ensure it meets their expectations. 

Acceptance testing is typically carried out in a production-like environment, and the testers use real-world scenarios to test the software application using the suitable testing tools for developers available in the market.

You can perform the Acceptance testing process in software testing in different ways, such as alpha testing, beta testing, or user acceptance testing (UAT). The developers perform alpha testing, while external users perform beta testing. 

The end-users of this one of the popular levels of software testing or customers themselves carry out UAT. Acceptance testing verifies that a program is fit for release and satisfies all of the requirements set forth by the client.

Integration Testing

Integration testing ensures that a software application performs according to developers’ requirements. In this level of testing, individual code units are combined and tested to ensure that they work correctly as a single system. A team of testers typically carries out integration testing. They use specialized tools and frameworks to create and run integration tests.

You can perform Integration testing in different ways, like top-down or bottom-up tests. In top-down testing, testers run tests on the highest-level modules and then add the lower-level ones. Testers test the lowest-level modules in bottom-up testing and then add the higher-level modules later. Integration testing verifies that the program’s functionality is up to the standards.

Software Testing Benefits

levels of testing in software testing

The above levels introduced are listed to satisfy queries like what are the various testing levels that are often asked on the internet. Now, the time comes to understand all benefits delivered by the software testing phases. 

The levels of testing in software testing provide numerous benefits, making it an essential part of the SDLC. Some of the key software testing benefits are:

  • Improved Software Quality: Software testing helps to identify defects and errors in the software code and eliminate them before the software is deployed to production; this leads to a higher quality software product that meets the specified requirements and performs as expected.
  • Reduced Maintenance Costs: By identifying defects and errors early in the development process, software testing helps to reduce maintenance costs. Fixing defects and errors during development is easier than after the organization deploys the software.
  • Enhanced Customer Satisfaction: High-quality software products that meet the needs and expectations of end-users or customers lead to higher customer satisfaction, which can result in increased customer loyalty and a better reputation for the organization.
  • Improved Efficiency and Productivity: Software testing helps to identify and eliminate defects and errors that can slow down the software application or cause it to malfunction; this leads to an efficient and productive software application that performs as expected.
  • Reduced Risks: By identifying and eliminating defects and errors, software testing helps to reduce the risks associated with software application deployment; this, in turn, leads to a more secure and reliable software product that can be used with confidence.


The quality of software products relies on four distinct testing phases throughout the SDLC. The levels of testing in software testing like System testing, Unit testing, Acceptance testing, and Integration testing are the many levels of software testing that assist developers in finding bugs early on and guarantee that the software program performs as expected and meets the target audience requirements. Lastly, hopefully, our software testing guide satisfied your queries and helped you find the perfect testing environment for your software.

Aparna <span>Growth Strategist</span>“/></figure></p></div><div class=Written By

Aparna is a growth specialist with handsful knowledge in business development. She values marketing as key a driver for sales, keeping up with the latest in the Mobile App industry. Her getting things done attitude makes her a magnet for the trickiest of tasks. In free times, which are few and far between, you can catch up with her at a game of Fussball.

Follow Author Linked In

Want To Hire The Best Service Provider?

MobileAppDaily will help you explore the best service providers depending on your vision, budget, project requirements and industry. Get in touch and create a list of best-suited companies for your needs.